BRITISH ADMINISTRATION AFTER THE MERGER OF PUNJAB MARCH 29, 1849

The Punjab after its annexation to the British dominions in India in 1849 was not attached to any of the old Presidencies but was kept as a separate Province.

The British constituted a Board consisting of three members and one of them was called its President. However, the Board was abolished in January 1853 and the Punjab administration was placed under the Chief Commissioner. In 1858, the post of Chief Commissioner was designated as Lieutenant Governor and re-designated as Governor in 1921.

Later on, the new arrangement of the Province for administrative purposes was made and the following Divisions and districts were created:-

Division	Districts
1. Ambala	Hissar, Rohtak, Gurgaon, Karnal,
	Ambala and Simla.
2. Jullundur	Kangra, Hoshiarpur, Jullundur,
	Ludhiana and Ferozepore.
3. Lahore	Lahore, Amritsar, Gurdaspur, Sialkot,
	Gujranwala and Sheikhupura.
4. Rawalpindi	Gujrat, Shahpur, Jhelum, Rawalpindi,
	Attock and Mianwali.
5. Multan	Montgomery, Lyallpur, Jhang, Multan,
	Muzaffargarh and Dera Ghazi Khan.

${\it Maharaja} \ Duleep \ Singh-The King in Exile$

Reference Books

- 1. J. S Grewal, *The New Cambridge History of India*, *The Sikhs of the Punjab*, Cambridge University Press, Published in India by Foundation Books, Darya Ganj, New Delhi.
- 2. V.S. Suri, British Residency and Agency System, Panjab Past and Present. Vol. II, Part I, April. 1968. Punjabi University, Patiala.